Board of Directors

The HCRA is to be governed by a nine-person Board of Directors, including six elected representatives and three members appointed by the Minister of Government and Consumer Services to represent consumers, business and government. The HCRA’s Board of Directors is responsible for providing strategic leadership to the HCRA.

The HCRA’s current Board is comprised of the following members:

Virginia West

Virginia West is a former Deputy Minister in the Ontario government serving in five successive portfolios over a twelve-year period, which included the Solicitor General Public Safety and Security, Environment, Labour, and Natural Resources. She has also held leadership positions at the municipal level of government as Commissioner of City Property for the City of Toronto, Chief Administrative Officer for the Borough of East York, and the first Commissioner of Urban Planning and Development for the amalgamated City of Toronto. Virginia is also the Chair of the Board at the Ontario Motor Vehicle Industry Council and a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Red Cross. Until June 2021 Virginia was a Board Director and Vice-Chair of Unity Health Toronto.

Vice Chair
Marg Rappolt

Strategic leader in public policy and human service transformation. Worked for 36 years in two provincial administrations (Ontario and Saskatchewan) and retired in 2014. Former Deputy Minister with the Ontario government with portfolios including: Community and Social Services, Health and Long-Term Care, Health Promotion, Seniors, Aboriginal Affairs, and the Ministry of the Attorney General. Marg also currently chairs the Board of Trustees of the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital.

Eric DenOuden

Eric DenOuden is the President of Hilden Homes Ltd and DenOuden Inc. He has over 40 years of building and land development experience, developing a diverse range of communities throughout the greater Quinte Region. Over those years the award winning company has been a leader in advanced housing design and building technology. Eric previously served as a board member and President for the Quinte Home Builders Association, Ontario Home Builders Association and the Canadian Home Builders Association. He is also a former Board member and Chair of Redeemer University.

Rinku Deswal

Rinku Deswal is a lawyer and the owner of RD Law Professional Corporation. She has 17 years of litigation experience and was formerly Counsel at Paterson MacDougall LLP and Bersenas Jacobsen Chouest Thomson Blackburn LLP. Rinku has served as Board Chair for Peel Crime Stoppers and as a Board member for St. John Ambulance (Peel Region). She has been awarded the Safe City Mississauga Bell Hero Award for her work in crime prevention in the Region of Peel.

Hugh Heron

Hugh Heron is the Chairman of Heathwood Homes and Heron Homes. With over 50 years of building experience, Hugh’s building entities have built over 8,000 homes across Ontario. He has been a leader in the industry previously serving as Chair of the Tarion Warranty Corporation, President of both the Greater Toronto and Ontario Builders’ Associations as well as a Senior Board Member of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. In 2018, Hugh was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Building Industry and Land Development Association. Hugh is also Chairman of the Mikey Network, a charity placing defibrillators throughout Canada.

Mary Kardos Burton

Mary Kardos Burton is a former Assistant Deputy Minister in the Ontario government with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. She also held executive positions with the Ministry of Community and Social Services. Mary has held various consulting assignments in health and social services including Chair of Built Environment Standards for the Accessibility Directorate of Ontario and Interim Vice-President for Health Quality Ontario. In addition, she served as a public member for the College of Registered Psychotherapists and as Chair of the Board for Belmont House, a long-term care and retirement home. Mary is a graduate of the Rotman-ICD NFP Governance Essentials Program.

Av Maharaj

Named by the Globe and Mail’s Report on Business Magazine as one of the top 50 Executives in Canada in 2020, Av Maharaj is the Chief Administrative Officer & VP of Legal, Corporate Affairs and HR for Kraft Heinz Canada. Prior to that Av held senior positions at the Kellogg Company including serving as a member of the Canadian Executive Leadership Team, and Vice President, International, Legal, where he was responsible for all legal operations of Kellogg across the globe outside of the United States. Av is the past Chair of Legal Leaders for Diversity and continues to be a passionate advocate for diversity and inclusion in the legal profession. Av has also been named In-House Counsel of the Year by the South Asian Bar Association and a Diversity Champion by Women of Influence. Prior to his roles at Kellogg, Av practiced law at Fasken Martineau and Blake, Cassels & Graydon, focusing on securities, M&A and corporate law. Av holds an Honours Degree in Economics and a Law Degree from Western University.

David Stimac

President of the Ironstone Building Company Inc. and Talu Properties Inc. Past president of the London Home Builders Association and served on the Board of Directors of the Ontario Home Builders’ Association and the Canadian Home Builders’ Association. David also holds an MBA from the University of Windsor.

Terence Young

Terence Young is the President of Gravitas Strategies, a strategic communications firm. He has 30 years’ experience in the private sector, and served as Board Member and adjudicator for the Alcohol and Gaming Commission. Terence served as an elected Member of the Ontario Legislature from 1995 until 1999, as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance, and Colleges and Universities, and also served as a Federal Member of Parliament from 2008 to 2015 where he conceived, and galvanized Parliament to pass Vanessa’s Law: The Protecting Canadians from Unsafe Drugs Act. Terence also holds an ICD.D designation.