Our Role

Who We Are

The Home Construction Regulatory Authority (HCRA) regulates new home builders and vendors in the province. We protect the public interest through a fair, safe and informed marketplace that supports the goal of a continuously improved homebuilding industry in Ontario.

HCRA holds licensed builders to professional standards, protects the public interest, and enhances consumer confidence in the homebuilding industry in Ontario. In addition, HCRA strives to educate consumers to ensure that they can make informed decisions and understand the benefits of a regulated homebuilding sector.

HCRA is a not-for-profit corporation that is designated by the provincial government to administer and enforce the New Home Construction Licensing Act, 2017 and associated regulations.


The HCRA was designated by the Government of Ontario effective February 1, 2021 as the regulatory authority under the New Home Construction Licensing Act, 2017. Historically, the Tarion Warranty Corporation has been the delegated administrative authority responsible for licensing home builders and vendors in Ontario.

As a result of an independent review of Tarion and the Ontario New Home Warranties Plan Act (ONHWPA) in 2016 by Justice Cunningham, the Government of Ontario committed to creating a new regulator. Now, the regulation and licensing of new home builders and vendors in Ontario are the responsibility of the HCRA. All matters related to homeowner warranty protection remain the responsibility of Tarion.

Mission and Values

Our Mission:

  • A well-regulated industry building better homes
  • Continuous enhancement of consumer protection and home buyer confidence
  • Fairness and efficiency
  • Collaborating and innovating as a team and with stakeholders

Our Values:

  • Fairness, Honesty and Integrity: acting truthfully and objectively to inspire confidence and trust from consumers and the home building industry.
  • Service Excellence: providing responsive, efficient and effective services.
  • Openness and Accountability: being transparent in, and accountable for, our actions and decisions.
  • Collaboration and Innovation: working as a team along with consumers and the industry to listen, learn and continuously seek new ideas, approaches and solutions.
  • Diversity and Inclusion: welcoming all people and ideas with a commitment to inclusion, treating everyone respectfully and without bias.

Our Commitment

The HCRA is committed to enhancing the professionalism of the new home building industry in Ontario by increasing consumer protection.

The Ministry of Government and Consumer Services continues to be responsible for the New Home Construction Licensing Act, 2017 and associated regulations, as well as general oversight of the HCRA.